Members in the News

2015 Eastern National Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest

Oct 07, 2015

Congratulations to Texas Tech University for taking top honors at the 2015 Eastern National Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest which was held October 3rd at Cargill Regional Beef in Wyalusing, PA

In total, 101 contestants representing 16 teams participated in the Senior division contest with Texas Tech University, coached by Bo Hutto, Dan Crownover and Dr. Mark Miller, placing first.  Texas Tech’s team members include: Sean Morrow, Darby Gonzales, Clay Bendele, Erin Beyer, Melani Howell, Cody Shannon, Landon French, Morgan Boyer, Michaela Pinder, Liz Burgess, Kyle Lambert, Zena Doty, Bebe Clark, Scotta Faulkenberry, Hallie Hutto, Erin Klein, and Madison Langemeier. Texas Tech was followed by Colorado State University, Texas A&M University, University of Wyoming, and Oklahoma State University.

Clay Bendele (Texas Tech University) was high individual and Eli Lindsey (University of Wyoming) was second.  Hallie Hutto (Texas Tech University) won the alternates contest.

This year’s committee consisted of: Dr. Tom Carr, University of Illinois Emeritus; Dr. Bucky Gwartney, USDA; Dr. Scott Howard, Cargill; Sarah Wells, Wendy’s; Diana Clark, Certified Angus Beef; Jodie Pitcock, USDA; and Darrell Dowd, USDA. 

Social Media