logo_03

Texas A&M University

Meat Science Faculty

Ashley Arnold

Focus area: food safety, pathogen interventions, HACCP, meat quality and nutrition.
a.arnold@tamu.edu

Alejandro Castillo

Focus area: Food microbiology, microbiological quality and safety and foods, HACCP, and pathogen interventions.
a-castillo@tamu.edu

H. Russell Cross

Focus area: meat quality and safety, crisis management, nutrition.
hrcross@tamu.edu

Leslie Frenzel 

Focus area: meat judging, meat quality, undergraduate education.
lesliefrenzel@tamu.edu

Jason Gill

Focus area: basic bacteriophage biology, phage genomics, and real-world phage applications.
jason.gill@tamu.edu 

Davey Griffin

Focus area: Food safety, carcass composition value-based marketing, packaging and shelf-life.
dgriff@tamu.edu

Dan Hale

dhale@tamu.edu

Kerri Gehring

Focus area: Food Safety, HACCP, and nutrition.
kbgehring@tamu.edu

Rhonda Miller

Focus area: Carcass composition, growth and development, sensory analysis, meat safety and quality.
rmiller@tamu.edu 

Wes Osburn

Focus area: Processed meats, meat safety, value-added products, and quality.
osburnw@tamu.edu

Jeff Savell

Focus area: Carcass composition, packaging and shelf-life, meat quality, nutrition and safety.
j-savell@tamu.edu

Gary Smith 

Focus area: meat quality and safety; packaging and retailing of red meat; carcass evaluation and grading.
gary.smith@ag.tamu.edu

Steve Smith

Focus area: Molecular biology of muscle and adipose tissue differentiation. 
sbsmith@tamu.edu

Matthew Taylor

Focus area: food microbiology, microbiological quality and safety of foods, and pathogen interventions.
matt_taylor@tamu.edu


Contact Person

Jeff Savell
2471 TAMU KLCT 348
College Station, TX 77843
979-845-3935
j-savell@tamu.edu

Other Resources

Meat Science Section website: http://meat.tamu.edu

Graduate Program website: http://ogs.tamu.edu

Animal Science website: http://animalscience.tamu.edu

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: RT @GHGGuru: This might become an interesting discussion, because folks are tired of food groups being compared by weight or volume or tota…
  • @MeatScience: We love seeing quiz bowl teams getting ready for #RMC21 Quiz Bowl! #MeatScience https://t.co/LO1S39vZrU
  • @MeatScience: RT @NationalPork: The best way to ensure both a safe and delicious eating experience is with a meat thermometer! Make sure it’s accurate so…
  • @MeatScience: RT @natprovisioner: Join @MeatScience in Reno for the premiere Meat Science conference of the year. The 2021 Reciprocal Meat Conference wil…
  • @MeatScience: RT @uf_ansci: The 2020 @MeatScience iron chef contest inspired Kylie Phillips to incorporate product development and industry collaboration…