Meat Judging Results

2018 Eastern National

The Eastern National Meat Judging Contest was held September 29, 2018 at Cargill Regional Beef in Wyalusing, Pennsylvania.  In total, 107 contestants from 15 universities participated in the contest.   

Senior Division


Top Individuals 

  1. Thachary Mayer, Texas Tech University (1072) Thachary Mayer 2018
  2. Mac Cassas, Colorado State University (1045)
  3. Savannah Millburn, Colorado State University (1042)
  4. Emma Mortensen, Texas Tech University (1040)
  5. Leah Parsons, Kansas State University (1030)
  6. Colton Smith, Texas Tech University (1027)
  7. Dyllan Galligan, Texas A&M University (1024)
  8. Bo Garcia, Texas A&M University (1023)
  9. Landon Verbeek, Colorado State University (1020)
  10. Holly Sanders, Texas A&M University (1019)

Top Teams

  1. Texas Tech University, (4163)
  2. Colorado State University, (4111)
  3. Kansas State University, (4060)
  4. Oklahoma State University, (4035)
  5. Texas A&M University, (3009)

Texas Tech University
 Texas Tech 2018

Individual Division Awards

Beef Grading - Thachary Mayer, Texas Tech University, (265)
Lamb Judging - Thachary Mayer, Texas Tech University, (144)
Pork Judging - Savannah Millburn, Colorado State University, (285)
Beef Judging - Thachary Mayer, Texas Tech University, (289)
Specifications - Emma Mortensen, Texas Tech University, (97)
Total Beef - Thachary Mayer, Texas Tech University, (554)  
Total Placings - Thachary Mayer, Texas Tech University, (498)
Total Reasons - Colotn Smith, Texas Tech University, (218)
Alternate Contest - Koby Valentine, Texas Tech University, (827)

Team Division Awards

Beef Grading - Texas Tech University, (1018)
Lamb Judging - Texas Tech University, (551)  
Pork Judging -
Colorado State University, (1091) 
Beef Judging - Texas Tech University, (1150)  
Specifications - Colorado State University, (368)
Total Beef - Texas Tech University, (2168)  
Total Placings - Oklahoma State University, (1935)  
Total Reasons - Texas Tech University, (851)

Official Committee

Dr. John Scanga, Elanco Animal Health (Chair)
Dr. Rob Maddock, North Dakota State University
Dr. Katy Wolff, Cargill
Nick Myers, Cryovac Sealed Air
Drew Cashman, Clemons Food Group
Dr. KatieRose McCullough, NAMI
Darrell Dowd, USDA

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: AMSA Team spent a couple great days in Fort Worth catching up, welcoming Dr. Rob Maddock to the team, and planning!… https://t.co/PAieBBcN9v
  • @MeatScience: RT @MeatPoultry: In partnership with the American Meat Science Association (@MeatScience), @MidanMarketing has created the Patrick Fleming…
  • @MeatScience: Registration is open! Don't miss out on this great opportunity to tour #meatindustry companies, #network with… https://t.co/lMbj7PtOAE
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs