2005 Spirit Awards

Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the U of I in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2005 A-Division Spirit Award

Isaac Spare, Barton County Community College
Jason Eitel, Clarendon College
Tyler Soblaskey, Eastern Oklahoma State College
Jacque Larue, Fort Scott Community College
Daniel Cossman, Garden City Community College
Wesley Callaway, Western Texas College
*Danny Grebner, Illinois Central College
*Zack Roberts, Allen County Community College
*not pictured

2005 Senior Division Spirit Award

Jamin Phipps, Angelo State University
Rick Kreps, Colorado State
Randy Long, Fresno State University
Matt Thome, Iowa State University
Jared Parsons, Kansas State University
Cody Wilsey, Montana State University
Noah Hall, North Dakota State University
Jace Beardsley, Oklahoma State University
Corey Minor, South Dakota State University
Amy Lide, Texas A&M University
Kelli Edgar, Texas Tech University
Karen Blankenship, The Ohio State University
Brooke McClure, University of Illinois
Melinda Mallory, University of Kentucky
Zac Neth, University of Missouri-Columbia
Ace Vanderwalle, University of Nebraska
Justin Tedford, University of Wyoming

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Trade Specialist | U.S. Meat Export Federation: Denver, Colorado | https://t.co/wyur7mYnKj #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Marketing Program Specialist | U.S. Meat Export Federation: Denver, Colorado | https://t.co/iWri5OtT3b #jobs
  • @MeatScience: DEADLINE EXTENDED! Sign-up to attend the @TysonFoods Beyond Fresh Meat Short Course to gain hands-on experience in… https://t.co/86LKLyRi7I
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Assistant/Associate Professor Meat Scientist | New Mexico State University: Las Cruces, New Mexico |… https://t.co/Scye3IX6JZ
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Quality/Technical Manager - Microbiology | Food Safety Net Services: Nationwide | https://t.co/MEaEpE7PHD #jobs