2007 Hamilton Spirit Awards

Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the U of I in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2007 A-Division Spirit Award

The 2007 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill Meat Solutions High Plains Contest on October 28, 2007. Those students receiving this award included: Andrew Bill (Illinois Central College), Jamie Seifert (Allen County Community College), Frank Perez (Clarendon College), Jacquie Welton (Eastern Oklahoma State College), Brad Dobbs (Fort Scott Community College), Danny Koons (Garden City Community College), and Stacia Fargason (Western Texas College). 

2007 Senior Division Spirit Award

The 2007 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Contest, held on November 11, 2007. Those students that were selected by their peers to receive this award included: Michele Sanchez (Angelo State University), Dominic DiSanti (Colorado State University), Daniel Clark (University of Illinois), Aaron Holliday (Iowa State University), Kyle Baker (Kansas State University), Gary Hamlin (University of Kentucky), Whitney Haux (North Dakota State University), Russell Burgett (The Ohio State University), Cameron Price (Oklahoma State University), Leroy Mack (South Dakota State University), John Arnold (Texas A&M University), Cole Snider (Texas Tech University), Filogomes Alves Carvalho Neto (West Texas A&M University), and Katie Kessler (University of Wyoming). 

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Senior Account Executive | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/mRj3bHBoeF #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/YRUEk6QMFe #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Digital Content Specialist | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/5x1m49rxdO #jobs