Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the U of I in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2009 A-Division Spirit Award


The 2009 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill Meat Solutions High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on November 1, 2009. Those students receiving this award included: Randy Sheffield (Garden City Community College), Maycon Stork (Tarleton State University), Cody Denton (Western Texas College), Alyssa Jobe (Allen County Community College), Hermilo Garcia (Clarendon College), Jesse Muller (Coffeyville Community College) and Darcy Bruton (Fort Scott Community College) not pictured.

2009 Senior Division Spirit Award


The 2009 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Contest, held on November 15, 2009. Those students receiving this award included: Mark Baxter (Angelo State University), Renee Kinsey (Colorado State University), Tate Corliss (Texas Tech University), Marcus Miller (Oklahoma State University), Anne Brucker (Ohio State University), Jacquelin Ebeling (Texas A&M University), Rives White (University of Wyoming), Emily Evans (South Dakota State University), Elizabeth Wilhelm (University of Nebraska), Bradley Deeken (University of Missouri), Andy Wirt (North Dakota State University), Michelle Semler (Iowa State University), Gered Smith (West Texas A&M University), Leeann Slaughter (University of Kentucky), Diana Pezza (University of Illinois), Kyle Steele (Kansas State University) and Marisa White (University of Florida) not pictured.

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Senior Account Executive | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/mRj3bHBoeF #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/YRUEk6QMFe #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Digital Content Specialist | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/5x1m49rxdO #jobs