Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the University of Illinois in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2010 A-Division Spirit Award

The 2010 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill Meat Solutions High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on October 31, 2010. Those students receiving this award included: Cade Luckett (Clarendon College), Kayla Foster (Laramie County Community College), Michael Jack (Garden City Community College), Rachael Arkfeld (Coffeyville Community College), Kendra McGuire (Western Texas College), Mindy Andres, not pictured, (Allen County Community College) and Jenilee Martin (Fort Scott Community College).  

2010 Senior Division Spirit Award


The 2010 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Contest, held on November 14, 2010. Those students receiving this award included: Keith Harp (California State University – Fresno); Eric Wellman (Colorado State University); Marissa Navarro (University of Florida); Callie West (University of Illinois); Lori Klootwyk (Iowa State University; Jed Lee (Kansas State University); Rebecca Morrison (Mississippi State University); Jacob Miller (University of Missouri);  Austin Zimmerman (University of Nebraska); Kelsey Phelps (North Dakota State University); Leann Johnson (Ohio State University); Derek Griffing (Oklahoma State University); Sarah Doyle (The Pennsylvania  State University); Jarrod Bumsted (South Dakota State University) Stephen Lopez (Texas A&M University); Troy Tarpley (Texas Tech University) and Wade Allnutt (University of Wyoming).

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Senior Account Executive | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/mRj3bHBoeF #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/YRUEk6QMFe #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Digital Content Specialist | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/5x1m49rxdO #jobs