2015 Hamilton Spirit Awards

Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the University of Illinois in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2015 A-Division Spirit Award

The 2015 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on November 1, 2015. Those students receiving this award included: Tayler McBride (Cisco College), Dustin Jones (Clarendon College), Ty Wood (Fort Scott Community College), Chip DeWitt (Garden City Community College), Dustin Trevino (Texas A&M University-- Kingsville), and Oscar Delarosa (Western Texas College). 

2015 Senior Division Spirit Award

The 2015 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on November 15, 2015.  Those students receiving this award included: Tina Hansen (Colorado State University), Nathan Odom (University of Florida), Mareah Volk (University of Illinois), Regan Sippy (Iowa State University), Nicole Dunovsky (Kansas State University), Heather Smallegan (Michigan State University), Paige Davis (University of Missouri), Joseph Bennier (University of Nebraska), Hannah Nordby (North Dakota State University), J.T. Hearn (Oklahoma State University), Lucas Doyle (Penn State University), Logan Johnson (South Dakota State University), Reagan Couble (Tarleton State University), Brandon Burge (Texas A&M University), Liz Burgess (Texas Tech University), and Eli Lindsey (University of Wyoming).

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: AMSA Team spent a couple great days in Fort Worth catching up, welcoming Dr. Rob Maddock to the team, and planning!… https://t.co/PAieBBcN9v
  • @MeatScience: RT @MeatPoultry: In partnership with the American Meat Science Association (@MeatScience), @MidanMarketing has created the Patrick Fleming…
  • @MeatScience: Registration is open! Don't miss out on this great opportunity to tour #meatindustry companies, #network with… https://t.co/lMbj7PtOAE
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs