2018 Hamilton Spirit Awards

Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the University of Illinois in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2018 A-Division Spirit Award

A Div - Rachel Hamilton Winners 2018  

The 2018 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on October 28, 2018. Those students receiving this award included: James Daniels (Clarendon College), Hannah McGrath (Fort Scott Community College), Chance Jones (Garden City Community College), and Allyson Hollenbeck (Cisco College).

2018 Senior Division Spirit Award
 Rachel Hamilton Senior 2018

The 2018 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on November 11, 2018.  Those students receiving this award included: Taylor Lockhoof (Angelo State University), Jazmine Brown (Colorado State University), Miranda Reese (University of Florida), Caroline Downey (University of Illinois), Hannah Engle (Iowa State University), Leah Parsons (Kansas State University), Logan Meier (University of Missouri), Joseph Sonderman (University of Nebraska), Ariel Watson (Ohio State University), Ally Casey (Oklahoma State University), Clay Newton (South Dakota State University), Roger Gonzalez (Tarleton State University), Jason Shamburger (Texas A&M University), Travis Tilton (Texas Tech University), Erika Eckhardt (University of Wyoming), Aaron Stanoch (North Dakota State University), Shelby Dibling (Purdue University), Emma Shelton (University of Kentucky), and Andreah Meador (West Texas A&M University).

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Senior Account Executive | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/mRj3bHBoeF #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/YRUEk6QMFe #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Digital Content Specialist | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/5x1m49rxdO #jobs