2019 Hamilton Spirit Awards

Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the University of Illinois in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2019 A-Division Spirit Award 

The 2019 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on October 27, 2019. Those students receiving this award included: Arliss Corliss (Clarendon College), Lane Compton (Fort Scott Community College), Kyle Hammond (Garden City Community College), Coby Adkins (Cisco College), and Cheyenne Taylor (Western Texas College).

A Division Rachel Hamilton 2019 web

2019 Senior Division Spirit Award 

The 2019 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on November 10, 2019.  Those students receiving this award included: Jake Dusek (Angelo State University), Libby Sharpe (Colorado State University), Sierra Carpenter (University of Florida), Natalie Shaw (University of Illinois), Gabby DiRusso (Iowa State University), Greyson Collins (Kansas State University), Taylor Jones (University of Missouri), Bridgette Chronister (Ohio State University), Mandy Lawson (Oklahoma State University), Ryan Yeatts (Texas A&M University), Newt Koemel (Texas Tech University), Robyn Halley (University of Wyoming.

Rachel Hamilton 2019 Senior web

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Senior Account Executive | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/mRj3bHBoeF #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/YRUEk6QMFe #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Digital Content Specialist | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/5x1m49rxdO #jobs