Meat Judging News and Important Information

2015 Meat Judging Season Concludes at International

Nov 19, 2015

Congratulations to Texas Tech University for being named the 2015 National Champion Intercollegiate Meat Judging Team at the International Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest which was held November 15th at Tyson Fresh Meats in Dakota City, Nebraska.

In total, 112 contestants representing 17 teams participated with Texas Tech University, coached by Bo Hutto, Dan Crownover and Dr. Mark Miller, placing first.  Texas Tech’s team members include: Cody Shannon, Morgan Boyer, Clay Bendele, Erin Beyer, Melani Howell, Sean Morrow, Darby Gonzales, Landon French, Michaela Pinder, Liz Burgess, Kyle Lambert, Zena Doty, Bebe Clark, Scotta Faulkenberry, Hallie Hutto, Erin Klein, and Madison Langemeier. Texas Tech was followed by University of Wyoming, Texas A&M University, Oklahoma State University, and Kansas State University.

Erin Beyers (Texas Tech University) was high individual and Clay Bendele (Texas Tech University) was second.  Hannah Nelson (Oklahoma State University) won the alternates contest.

For more results click here.

This year’s committee consisted of: Dr. Brad Morgan, Chair, Performance Foods Group; Ian Shann, Tyson Foods; Dr. Duane Wulf, The Fatted Calf; Dr. Randy Harp, Tarleton State University; Dr. Dustin Mohrhauser, Smithfield Foods; and Darrell Dowd, USDA-AMS. 

Social Media