Meat Judging News and Important Information

2016 Southwestern Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest Results

Feb 17, 2016

Congratulations to Texas Tech University and Garden City Community College for taking top honors at the 2016 Southwestern Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest which was held January 31st at Frontier Meats in Fort Worth, Texas.

In total, 85 contestants representing 9 teams participated in the Senior division contest with Texas Tech University, coached by Loni Woolley, Mallorie Phelps, Nick Hardcastle and Dr. Mark Miller, placing first.  Texas Tech’s team members include: Tommy Fletcher, Cole Perkins, Kye Schwartz, Chelsi Vineyard, Kyle Caldwell, Katlynn Freeman, Shannon O’Quinn, Keeley Sears, Lane Harrington, Gus Holbein, Jessica Humphrey, Kiersten Scott, Boyd Henry, Courtney Jasik, Blayne Troxell, and Megan Writt. Texas Tech was followed by Oklahoma State University, Colorado State University, Texas A&M University, and the Kansas State University.

Maddie Comes (Colorado State University) was high individual and Kye Schwartz (Texas Tech University) was second.  Blayne Troxell (Texas Tech University) won the alternates contest.

In total, 46 contestants from 6 universities and colleges participated in the A-Division contest.  Garden City Community College won the division, coached by Dr. Clint Alexander and Amanda White. Team members include: Adrian Longoria, Leah Parsons, Brock Sheppard, Diana Zamora, Austin Brown, Makayla Linville, Rebecca Roe, Austin Wilson, Kyle Abernathy, Kyle Hickok, Hanna Randolph, Brinn Baker, Eddie DaVilla, Paige McGaughey, and Mallory Overpeck. Garden City was followed by Clarendon College, Zamorano University, Fort Scott Community College and Cisco College.

Leah Parsons (Garden City Community College) was high individual and Adrian Longoria (Garden City Community College) was second. Mallory Overpeck (Garden City) won the alternates contests.

Full results can be found here.

This year’s committee consisted of: Dr. Joe Harris, Chair, Southwest Meat Association; Dr. Bryce Gerlach, Tyson Foods; Dan Crownover, Texas Tech University; Dr. John Kellermeier, Dankworth Smoked Meats; Kassie Jo Winn, iCEV; Ray Riley, Texas A&M University; and Darrell Dowd, USDA AMS. 


Social Media