The Intercollegiate Meat Judging Meritorious Service Award

Sponsored by Food Safety Net Services and Agri-West International

The AMSA Intercollegiate Meat Judging Meritorious Service Award was established in 1993 to recognize outstanding contributions or service to the Intercollegiate Meat Judging Program.

Eddie Behrends

Headshot Eddie Behrends

Meat Judging Meritorious Service

Feeding the Future NM

"Surround yourself with people who inspire you and find someone who you can inspire. AMSA members are an invaluable resource for inspiration. Also, challenge yourself every day to find a way to keep your edge."

- Eddie Behrends

MJ Meritorious Service by American Meat Science Association

2022 Cannon, Jerry Hormel Foods
2021 Savell, Jeffrey Texas A&M University
2020 Dowd, Darrell USDA AMS
2019 Pitcock, Jodie  USDA, AMS Livestock and Poultry Program
2018 Griffin, Davey Texas A&M University
2017 Mikel, Benjy  John R. White Company 
2016  Miller, Mark F. Texas Tech University
2015  Strong, Jason H. Australian Agricultural Company 
2014 Dikeman, Michael E. Kansas State University
2013 Harp, Randy M. Tarleton State University
2012 Henning, William R. The Pennsylvania State University
2011 Morgan, J. Brad Pfizer Animal Health
2010 Unruh, John A. Kansas State University
2009 Dolezal, H. Glen Cargill Meat Solutions
2008 Hines, Randy C. Tarleton State University
2007 Berg, Paul T. North Dakota State University
2006 Carr, Tom R. University of Illinois
2005 Jones, William R. Auburn University
2004 Fleming, Kenneth Cargill Meat Solutions
2003 Bellinger, John W. Agri-West International, Inc.
2002 Parrish, Jr., Fredrick C. Iowa State University
2001 Allen, Dell M. Excel Corporation
2000 Johnson, V. K. North Dakota State University
1999 Davis, Gordon W. CEV Multimedia
1998 Wise, Jimmy W. USDA, AMS, LS
1997 Smith, Gary C. Colorado State University
1996 Standardization Branch, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service
1995 Kropf, Donald H. Kansas State University
1994 Kelly, Robert F. Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
1993 Walters, Lowell E. Oklahoma State University