2017 Hamilton Spirit Awards

Rachel Strode Hamilton served the American Meat Science Association as Program Director of Intercollegiate Meats Judging from July 2000 until her untimely death. Rachel earned a B.S. degree in animal sciences from the University of Illinois in May 1998. While an undergraduate, she was a member of the 1997 Meats Judging Team and the 1998 Meat Animal Evaluation Team. She completed a Masters degree in meat science from the University of Illinois in May 2000, married Dan Hamilton in June, and immediately went to work for AMSA.

The Rachel Hamilton Memorial “Spirit” award was established to honor a member of each team selected by their peers whose winning approach exemplifies Rachel’s love of meats judging and makes them the teammate we all want to have. Rachel was extremely proud of her meats judging experience. She always strove to do her best, and her infectious attitude and dedication brought out the best in her teammates. Rachel was a very energetic, enthusiastic young woman with an infectious smile. Rachel, the eternal optimist, was a very compassionate, outgoing, kind individual who looked for the good in others. Her attitude, her ability to laugh, her work ethic, her loyalty, and her love of family and God are attributes she possessed and lived and left for us to emulate. Knowing Rachel made each of us a better person.

2017 A-Division Spirit Award

 Cargill 2017  A Div Hamiltonweb

The 2017 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the A-Division were announced at the Cargill High Plains Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on October 29, 2017. Those students receiving this award included: Jesse Robles (Texas A&M Kingsville), Britt Dixon (Clarendon College), Dylan Mcguire (Western Texas College), Itzel Lira (Garden City Community College), Hannah Griffith (Cisco College), and Rachel Gold (Fort Scott Community College)

2017 Senior Division Spirit Award
 Hamilton Senior 17

The 2017 Hamilton "Spirit" Awards for the Senior Division were announced at the International Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest on November 12, 2017.  Those students receiving this award included: Mayce Boyd (Angelo State University), Sam Barker (Colorado State University), Justine Snyder (University of Florida), Emily Schunke (University of Illinois), Austin Lanphier (Iowa State University), Caleb Hurst (Kansas State University), Ashleigh Apel (Michigan State University), Jenna Slaughter (University of Missouri), Renae Sieck (University of Nebraska), Cole Hanson (North Dakota State University), Randi Shaw (Ohio State University), Charley Rayfield (Oklahoma State University), Jada Rance (Purdue University), Cassidy Wulf (South Dakota State University), James Redwine (Tarleton State University), Macey Randig (Texas A&M University), Dean Chapman (Texas Tech University).

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: AMSA Team spent a couple great days in Fort Worth catching up, welcoming Dr. Rob Maddock to the team, and planning!… https://t.co/PAieBBcN9v
  • @MeatScience: RT @MeatPoultry: In partnership with the American Meat Science Association (@MeatScience), @MidanMarketing has created the Patrick Fleming…
  • @MeatScience: Registration is open! Don't miss out on this great opportunity to tour #meatindustry companies, #network with… https://t.co/lMbj7PtOAE
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs