The Southwestern Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest was held February 5, 2005 at Columbia Packing Company in Dallas, Texas.

Top Individuals, A Division

  1. Andrew Parker, Tarleton State University
  2. Kallie Smith, Garden City Community College
  3. Bryan Sheffield, Garden City Community College
  4. Morgan Unrast, Clarendon College
  5. Eric Harwell, Tarleton State University
  6. Cody Schneider, Fort Scott Community College
  7. Katie Johnson, Tarleton State University
  8. Brian Olsen, Fort Scott Community College
  9. Eric Klein, Allen County Community College
  10. Josh Ranker, Barton County Community College

Top Individuals, Sr. Division

  1. Crystal Johnson, Colorado State University
  2. Aaron Gaither, University of Missouri
  3. Missy Whitman, Colorado State University
  4. Thomas Epting, Angelo State University
  5. Jacki Snyder, University of Nebraska
  6. Sarah Richey, Texas Tech University
  7. Anne Bjerum, Iowa State University
  8. Dustin Mohrhauser, South Dakota State University
  9. Keith Schneberger, Oklahoma State University
  10. Jarrett Hudek, Texas A&M University

Top 5 Teams, A Division

  1. Tarleton State University
  2. Garden City Community College
  3. Fort Scott Community College
  4. Clarendon College
  5. Allen County Community College

Top 5 Teams, Sr. Division

  1. Colorado State University
  2. Texas A&M University
  3. South Dakota State University
  4. Iowa State University
  5. University of Missouri

In total, 150 contestants from 22 teams participated in the contest.

Awards were sponsored by AMSA, American Angus Association, American Hereford Association, Bob Campbell , Columbia Packing Company, CEV Multimedia, Equity Group, Roger Herriman, Keystone Foods, Livestock and Seed Program, Agricultural Marketing Service, USDA, Lone Star Beef Processors, National Lamb Feeders Association, National Pork Board, National Steak & Poultry, Oklahoma-Texas Meat Processors Association, Sadler's Bar-B-Que Sales, The Solae Company, Southwest Meat Association, Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show, Swift & Company, The Texas Association of Meat Processors, Keith Tice, and West Texas A&M University- Cattlemen's Carcass Data Service. The awards breakfast was sponsored by Excel Corporation and National Finance Credit Corporation/ Texas Livestock Marketing Association.

Tarleton State University
High Team Overall, A-Division
2005 Southwestern

Andrew Parker
Tarleton State University
High Individual Overall, A-Division
2005 Southwestern

Colorado State University
High Team Overall, Senior Division
2005 Southwestern

Crystal Johnson
Colorado State University
High Individual Overall, Senior Division
2005 Southwestern

Social Media

  • @MeatScience: AMSA Team spent a couple great days in Fort Worth catching up, welcoming Dr. Rob Maddock to the team, and planning!… https://t.co/PAieBBcN9v
  • @MeatScience: RT @MeatPoultry: In partnership with the American Meat Science Association (@MeatScience), @MidanMarketing has created the Patrick Fleming…
  • @MeatScience: Registration is open! Don't miss out on this great opportunity to tour #meatindustry companies, #network with… https://t.co/lMbj7PtOAE
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Public Relations Manager | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/NaRxb45aqQ #jobs
  • @MeatScience: Now Hiring: Social Media Coordinator | Midan Marketing Inc.: Nationwide | https://t.co/9yXtRjHon0 #jobs