Meat Judging News and Important Information

Texas Tech and Garden City College Take Top Honors at National Western

Jan 26, 2016

Congratulations to Texas Tech University and Garden City Community College for taking top honors at the 2016 National Western Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest which was held January 17th at JBS USA in Greeley, Colorado.

In total, 109 contestants representing 12 teams participated in the Senior division contest with Texas Tech University, coached by Loni Woolley, Mallorie Phelps, Nick Hardcastle and Dr. Mark Miller, placing first.  Texas Tech’s team members include: Tommy Fletcher, Cole Perkins, Kye Schwartz, Chelsi Vineyard, Kyle Caldwell, Katlynn Freeman, Shannon O’Quinn, Keeley Sears, Lane Harrington, Gus Holbein, Jessica Humphrey, Kiersten Scott, Boyd Henry, Courtney Jasik, Blayne Troxell, and Megan Writt. Texas Tech was followed by Colorado State University, Oklahoma State University, Texas A&M University, and the University of Missouri.

Tommy Fletcher (Texas Tech University) was high individual and Abby Bechtold (Oklahoma State University) was second.  Gus Holbein (Texas Tech University) won the alternates contest.

In total, 45 contestants from 6 universities and colleges participated in the A-Division contest.  Garden City Community College won the division, coached by Dr. Clint Alexander. Team members include: Adrian Longoria, Leah Parsons, Brock Sheppard, Diana Zamora, Austin Brown, Makayla Linville, Rebecca Roe, Austin Wilson, Kyle Abernathy, Kyle Hickok, Hanna Randolph, Brinn Baker, Eddie DaVilla, Paige McGaughey, and Mallory Overpeck. Clarendon was followed by Clarendon College, Australian National, Fort Scott Community College and Western Texas College.

Leah Parsons (Garden City Community College) was high individual and Courteney Walker (Clarendon College) was second. Taylor Stubenbordt (Clarendon College) won the alternates contests.

For complete results click here.

This year’s committee consisted of: Dr. Dale Woerner, Chair, Colorado State University; Scott Langley, JBS; Ryan Person, Person Consulting; Zeb Gray, University of Wyoming; Katie Rose McCullough, Colorado State University; Paul Clayton, US Meat Export Federation; and Darrell Dowd, USDA AMS. 

Social Media