Meat Judging News and Important Information

Oklahoma State Named Senior Division National Champions

Nov 29, 2018

Congratulations to Oklahoma State University for being crowned the 2018 National Champion Intercollegiate Meat Judging Team at the International Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest which was held November 11th at Tyson Fresh Meats in Dakota City, Nebraska.

In total, 115 contestants representing 19 teams participated with Oklahoma State University, coached by Morgan Pfeifer, placing first.  Oklahoma State’s team members include: Kathryn Hearn, Katelyn Gillum, Lilly Hildebrand, Mason Blinson, Emmy Bechtold, Sam Nehls, Ally Casey, Katy Harris and Andrea Thomas. Oklahoma State was followed by Texas Tech University, Kansas State University, Colorado State University and Texas A&M University.

Koby Valentine (Texas Tech University) was high individual, Jarrett Douglas (University of Florida) second and Kathryn Hearn (Oklahoma State University) came in third.  Jessie Featherstone (Texas Tech University) won the alternates contest followed by Michael Semler (Colorado State University).

This year’s committee consisted of: Dr. Benjy Mikel, Chair, John R. White Company; Dr. Dave Mckenna, Tyson Foods; Dr. Dustin Mohrhauser, Smithfield Foods; Jodie Pitcock, USDA, AMS; Dr. Zeb Grey, Furst-McNess Company; Casey Mabry, Blue Reef Agri-Marketing; and Darrell Dowd, USDA-AMS. 


Social Media